Finally Accepting the Spotlight

spotlight

We are all talented, diverse people with stories to tell, smiles to share, and love to give.  Therefore it’s quite easy for us to give compliments to friends and even strangers; and we often do it without even thinking.  However why is it that when we receive a compliment, we shy away from it- denying the simple idea that we could be that great or posses admirable skills?

“Because one believes in oneself, one doesn’t try to convince others. Because one is content with oneself, one doesn’t need others’ approval. Because one accepts oneself, the whole world accepts him or her.”

– Lao Tzu

My idea is simple.  Like what Lao Tzu said above, why can’t we just accept ourselves?  If we did accept ourselves, then it wouldn’t matter if others accepted us or not.  I challenge you, yes you, the reader, to compliment yourself at least once a day.  Instead of beating yourself up, how about building your self-confidence?

Imagine this: your self-confidence is a child being bullied and your conscience is the bully, constantly picking out the flaws and blemishes on this child.  How would you feel watching all of this go down?  You have two options.  Stop the bullying and stand up for what’s right or shy away from the situation.  However remember this, when you ignore the situation, it seems as if you agree with what the bully has to say.  You may not agree at all, but by not stepping in, you’ve sided with that person.

bullying

Much like your self-confidence, if you continually beat yourself up or divert every compliment that comes your way eventually, you begin to agree with them.  No.  Just no.  I will not let you do that to yourself.  Believe in yourself, take care of yourself, and love yourself, because in the end YOU are all you have.

That brings me to my last little bit of advice.  When someone gives you a compliment, it doesn’t mean you need to shy away from it or say something like, “Oh my gosh, I’m not even that great,” or “No way!  You’re so much better than me!”  I use to think that accepting a compliment would make me seem conceited and arrogant, but no it just means your mature enough to acknowledge that others can acknowledge your skills and assets.  You aren’t a bad person for accepting a compliment- like ever.

Lastly, if you aren’t strong enough to believe in yourself, then know that I’m here, and I believe in you.  Yeah, I don’t know you, but I know that in this great world is all connected, and in some way you’ll be helping me and I’ll be helping you one day.  I know everyone has abilities, but whether you choose to use them for good or bad or not at all is up to you.  All in all, just know that you’re an amazing person inside and out, and if you can’t believe that now, then hopefully you will be able to someday.

“All the world’s a stage, and all the men and women are merely players.”

-Shakespeare

So cast your brilliance on our world, because you are the best actor for your role.

All the world’s a stage, and all the men and women merely players: they have their exits and their entrances; and one man in his time plays many parts, his acts being seven ages.

William Shakespeare

Read more at http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/quotes/w/williamsha166828.html#8Vzo97Gf6oLIKSgP.99

All the world’s a stage, and all the men and women merely players: they have their exits and their entrances; and one man in his time plays many parts, his acts being seven ages.

William Shakespeare

Read more at http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/quotes/w/williamsha166828.html#8Vzo97Gf6oLIKSgP.99

One response to “Finally Accepting the Spotlight

  1. I can totally relate to this blog post, Katrya! I love to give compliments and sometimes when someone kind of brushes off my comment, I feel like they’ve brushed me off, too, by not caring about my opinion. Whether or not someone can accept a compliment is an indication of how much self-esteem a person has. Don’t be haughty, but don’t be dismissive either.

    Michelle 🙂

Leave a Reply

