Broken Promise? Or Deception?

Very recently I had a good friend of mine make a promise to me.  One which he promised to keep.  Of course, if he had kept that promise we all know this blog post wouldn’t even exist, but he happened to break that promise.  I wasn’t at all mad at him for not fulfilling it, but the fact that he had assured me it would be done and lied, made me the most disappointed.  Which got me thinking, what’s the difference between a broken promise and someone deceiving you?  In both cases you are lied to, but how do you tell the difference?

Broken_Promises_by_HerrFous

A promise to me, no matter how small is a promise, and when you break that promise, you have also loss some of the trust I

have for you.  Ironically, at around the time this friend broke his promise to me, my English class was reading Oedipus Rex.  For those of you who don’t know, Oedipus Rex, is a Greek tale that tells of a man who cannot escape his unfortunate fate.  This book is dominated by the idea that you are bounded by your fate and is filled with dramatic irony and plot twists.  If you’re interested, here’s a link to a summary!

As I was explaining, there are two characters that I wanted to focus on: Oedipus and Creon.  Oedipus is the reigning king, until he finds out he was the man who killed the previous king.  Unable to rule, his throne in Thebes must be given to Creon, his brother-in-law/uncle.  Oedipus, who must now be in exile, asks of a favor from Creon.  He asks that Creon watch over his children/siblings, especially his

daughters.  Creon thoughtfully promises to do so; acting in the kindest way to Oedipus.  Fast-forward a couple years, his children are grown up and Creon has been nothing to his children and Oedipus.

Why do I bring this up?  No, my friend did not promise me something on this large a scale but we all know that we don’t like it when our promises are broken.  So what sets my problem apart from Oedipus?  My friend broke his promise but Oedipus was deceived by Creon.  The both of us were obviously lied to, but our problems are from different planets- same difference.

I feel like sometimes it’s harder for us to choose and depict which one is which.  No matter what you choose, I think it’s important to remember that friends will slip sometimes and break a promise.  However friends should never be the ones to deceive you.  A friend should be willing to be there for you and realize your talents.  It may seem cheesy, but friends are your support system and often times are the ones who will make you shine even brighter.  I like to think that I’m a cheerleader for my other friends; cheering them on in good and bad, and always standing by their side.

fingerfriend

Keep your promises, keep good friends, and keep on shining,

Katrya

5 responses to “Broken Promise? Or Deception?

  1. This was truly inspirational because I could really relate to it. It’s basically the story of my life. Friends come and go, promises are made and broken and trust is earned and lost. I love how your posts make me think about my life and wonder about all the problems I face. Even after everything, there’s nothing that can dim my light because there’s A Million Ways to Shine. 🙂

  2. Pingback: [Re:Framed] The Beauty of a Promise | A Lost Flamingo·

Leave a Reply

