Take The Risk Or Regret The Miss?

Taking a deep breath, you walk off a curb, straight onto the street.  You could get hit by a car or you could make it to the other side.  Ready?

Mulan's grandmother showcases her "lucky cricket" right before blindly crossing a busy street.

Mulan’s grandmother showcases her “lucky cricket” right before blindly crossing a busy street.

Running a risk, any risk, can have many different results, however the risks we’re talking about today are ….classroom risks! DUN, DUN, DUNNNN!  I believe there are three types of people when it comes to handling situations- those who say, “risk it all”, those who “play it safe”, and those who choose the middle way.

Last week, my English class did an activity where we took the first paragraph of Charles Dickens book, A Tale of Two Cities, and broke it down, analyzing anything and everything.  And I mean everything.  A lot of times when I read, I skip over details and take everything for its literal meaning.  This assignment took me by surprise, because I didn’t think one paragraph (which was also only one sentence) could have so many meaning and take over 2 classes periods to analyze and explain.

Not only were we going to have to critically analyze this one paragraph, my teacher threw a curve ball at us when he said we had to present our ideas on a the white board and in teams.  What were the teams for?  It was competition time.  We were scored based on points and the teams took turns.  The first group to go was given 1 point per contribution.  The second group (my group) was given 2 points per contribution, third group with 3 points, and so on.  In my class there was 7-8 groups, and as each group went up, and ideas were taken, the last few groups had less to say.

DSC09478

This was when my group and I were faced with a decision.  A risky decision.  As the first group went up and began explaining their analysis, I began to get nervous.  Already, they had touched upon several of our ideas!  A little scared, my group glanced at each other nervously and agreed that we would go next.  It made me wonder though.

Would we have enough ideas to get us a lot of points?  What if our points aren’t valid or strong enough?  What if our group wasn’t as strong as the others, who had better points?

We were running a risk and with any risk, you were taking a 50/50 chance.  We could sink and fall or fly and rise to the top…what to do?  In the end we went second and were able to throw out some pretty awesome analysis about Dickens’ text.  I was especially happy with what we were able to present, and although I missed some points I wanted to say, I think overall my group did great.

I LOVED this little class activity.  Not only were we sharing our ideas with the class, but almost everyone got involved and it was a great interactive way to interpret the text, while having a little friendly competition.  The only thing I didn’t like, was how inconsistent and subjective the point giving was.  I felt like my teacher gave other groups points for answers repeated and some answer that I found interesting and point-worthy, my teacher didn’t.

Overall, I realized that the activity taught me to be patient and not run head first into a project or discussion.  Sometimes waiting (although risky) can result in a better outcome.

Mini-Update:

Story Time Sundays don’t work in a way that fits my schedule.  The past two weeks, I’ve realized how hard it was to publish a short story on such a short notice.  I want my stories to be interesting and well-written, which led me to make the decision of publishing a Story Time Sunday every other Sunday.

Keep shining and don’t forget to be patient,

Katrya 😉

(Haha yes, because this post teaches about patience and because I take forever to publish stories and posts…ugh…)

Leave a Reply

