My Intervention

Sigh. Here we go.

“It was the best of times, it was the worst of times.”

-Charles Dickens

Thanksgiving day was amazing (although a while ago). The food, the family, the laughing, and warmth of being all together. It was good, up until about 10PM.  Don’t get me wrong, I was extremely thankful and happy to spend a whole day with my family and just stuff my face, but this semi-intervention was highly uncalled for.

At around 10, we were all sitting around the table, telling stories and laughing when my Dad (thanks a lot Dad) brought up grades. “And did she tell you she has a C in math?” The table went quiet and in order to restore the joyous warmth that was there before, I sarcastically said, “Come on, Dad. It’s Thanksgiving, let’s be thankful and happy today.” And from that point, everything

“…rolled with exceeding smoothness down hill…”

-Charles Dickens

Long story short, I was in tears, getting lectured, and thinking “Wow…I am seriously slacking.” Although some people may not see a C as a bad thing, I live with stereotypical Asian parents. Let’s be honest, we all have been there or seen it before. Back to my C, I could see the disappointment in everyone’s eyes. Back in middle school, I maintained a 4.0 GPA all 3 years I was there (yup, this kid’s a distinguished scholar). When high school rolled around, I started slacking off and earned my first B in math, however I still had a 4.02 GPA thanks to English Honors (*sigh of relief).

After the intervention, I was angry and sad for a while. I couldn’t stop thinking about how bad I was doing at school; mindlessly blaming my teachers and the homework pile they gave everyday.  After some time, I realized what I needed and what this event all tied into. As cheesy and lame as this sounds…I had to be recalled to life.

photo

Yes, recalled to life, like from Charles Dickens book, A Tale of Two Cities. In the beginning of the book, everything is a bit a hazy and dark. A man named Jarvis Lorry is nervously sitting in a carriage on his way to dig a man out of his grave- and this man has buried for 18 years. When this man is asked multiple times how he feels about being recalled to life, and his response is always, “I can’t say.”

At the moment, I’m scared to get into the habit of doing well and working hard again. Slacking off is easy, quick, and simple. Doing well and being successful is something you have to constantly be working at to not only mold your lifestyle and habits, but overall yourself. I think I’m ready to work hard again and ready to endure the stress and workload coming my way.

But don’t burn out

Even if you scream and shout

It’ll come back to you

And I’ll be here for you

– One Direction (lyrics from Through The Dark)

I hope you all are doing well and I’m sorry for being gone so long!

-Katrya

Through the Dark is one of my favorite songs right now 🙂

Leave a Reply

