Webby Wednesdays: How Do YOU Define Yourself

On my Facebook news feed, I came across a post one of my friends had shared. It read: Labeled ‘World’s Ugliest Woman,’ Motivational Speaker Turns Hate Into Love. Curious as to what it was, I clicked on the link and it took me to The Huffington Post. The post was a news piece and it talked about an inspiring woman, Lizzie Velasquez, who was born with a syndrome only 2 other people in the world had. Woah…wait what?

But then I started realizing, “Am I gonna let the people who called me a monster, define me?” No. I’m gonna let my goals and my success and my accomplishments define me.

-Lizze Velasquez

Lizzie is normal woman, but the only thing about her is appearance. Her syndrome, which she describes as both good and bad, doesn’t allow her to gain weight and has caused her to be blind in her right eye. Lizzie, despite her syndrome and appearance is a positive and happy woman. I was touched by her optimism and humor when she confronted people calling her “World’s Ugliest Woman”. If anyone where to tell you you were anything less of your true self, you would be devastated, yet here Lizzie stands. She’s beautiful inside and out and radiates with nothing shy of amazing and awesomeness.

Down below is the video of Lizzie’s TEDx talk. She is an excellent motivational speaker and her story has touched so many, myself included. I hope only great things come her way and she inspires others to stop bullying and start finding the light in themselves.

-Katrya

2 responses to “Webby Wednesdays: How Do YOU Define Yourself

Leave a Reply

