Webby Wednesdays: To This Day Project- Shane Koyczan

Happy Wednesday y’all! We’re somewhat half way through the week and I am DONE. This whole week I’ve been sleeping at around midnight and waking up late! I started getting really mad again and frustrated at this little thing called LIFE. Then I came across a cute and thoughtful blog named Diving into the depths and read a post about speaking with style. If you want to read the post, click here!

shanekWithin this post was a seven and a half minutes video that summed up to me, what bullying were really about. While watching and listening to it, I kept thinking, “Oh my gosh…I’ve heard this somewhere before.” The speaker had a distinct, questioning voice, that I had heard somewhere before. The words he spoke, I somehow knew, like it was song I’d listen too over and over again. I couldn’t figure out how I knew, until the morning after when I was in my friend’s car on my way to school. I had heard this man’s voice in a TED Talks video!

His name is Shane Koyczan and he’s this really cool Canadian poet and writer. In the video I’m about to show you, his truthful words and passion for speaking out about bullying marry beautifully with the animation and graphic designs of the video. As if the two don’t pull at your heart enough, there’s also wonderfully composed music playing in the background; giving you the utter feeling of loneliness and desperation. With each spoken word, each new image, and each new note played out, you can only sit there amazed at how well done the video is and how moved you are by the sheer intensity of Kovzan’s words.

I’m not here to tell you not to be a bully. I’m not here to tell you apologize for your wrong-doings. I’m here to ask you to review your actions and ask yourself if you’ve treated yourself and others like a human being today.

“I will love myself despite the ease with which I lean toward the opposite.”

-Shane Koyczan

-Katrya

One response to “Webby Wednesdays: To This Day Project- Shane Koyczan

Leave a Reply

