The Quiet Friendship

There’s a quiet relationship that we I like to think exists between ourselves and the wonderful, intimate world of books. It’s a relationship based on the beauty of understanding not only the words together on the page, but also the little winks the author seems to give to us. The little head nods and small acknowledgement that you share something in secret- something personal. However, it’s also the deception and little details the author leaves out to make us pull at our hair while we’re reading, screaming, “NOOO, (insert character’s name) WHYYYYYY?!?!?!”

SONY DSC

In my happiest state 🙂

My freshman year, I read the Ray Bradbury book, Fahrenheit 451. Going into this book, I had no interest for it whatsoever. A dystopian novel about book burning? I mean c’mon ninth grade English Honors! I know our generation has our noses stuck in our phones and tablets, but we like reading too! I shook my head, wondering what mysteries this book would bring. To my surprise, as I was answering and questioning reading check questions and battling my way into Socratic seminars, I learned that I had a love not for the story itself, but the characters. I mean, I guess characters make a story, but- I don’t know was that a trick question? I think deep down I know I can’t hate a book, because somehow I become emotionally attached to the characters and their lives intertwine with mine, and my universe isn’t good enough for me anymore, because I’d do anything to live in there’s. Book lovers, you understand me, right?

Only once, EVER, had I disliked a book and I won’t say which book, but I was utterly bored by it; confused as to why it labeled as such a great work. A work of pure genius. A MASTERPIECE!

It was misleading, confusing, and written in a way that, to me, seems like you took stories from passionate young adults, cut them up, and threw them together. Actually, no, the writing wasn’t even that great. It was choppy and too detailed, then not detailed at all,  THEN (and this gets good) it goes in and out of a flashback (ready? here it goes) WITHOUT TELLING YOU OR EVEN GIVING YOU THE SLIGHTEST CLUE AS TO WHAT THE HELL HAPPENED. WHO DOES THAT? I mean, I get that authors want their books to be clever and all, but really? You need some structure in writing. Yet, what do I know? I’m just a mere reader- an observer of this guy’s work.

“Some people see the glass half full. Others see it half empty. I see a glass that’s twice as big as it needs to be.”

– George Carlin

Come to think of it, we are all just observers of someone else’s work. In the last book I just read (I finished today, and gosh I’m emotionally unstable right now) The Fault in Our Stars, Hazel Grace, a cancer patient lives by book entitled  An Imperial Affliction (sadly, this book does not exists in real life). Hazel calls this book the closest thing she has to a Bible and the author, one of her best friends (though he doesn’t know she exists -YET). No more spoilers, but after I read the novel, it got me thinking about the connections we have with books.

^A music video by one of my absolute favorite YouTubers (I have many, but I love love love him)

In fact, I read The Fault in Our Stars over talking to my friends, over talking to my family, and over eating (YES EATING!!). So much so that one of my “friends” told me that I was crazy and totally dissed my reading. You know what? Sometimes books are better than people. Scratch that. Books are better than people. And John Green is a god.

^The movie is out June 2014, I suggest you get reading 😉

You don’t have to be a bookworm to understand the connection built with books. In fact, you don’t even have to like reading. Just pick up a book and look it over. Eventually you’ll find a book you love- one that you really click with. Okay? Okay.

-Katrya

5 responses to “The Quiet Friendship

  1. Your blog shows me a whole entire new side of you and I love the way you use humor here and there. It might be because I laugh at everything (in a good way) but blogs are different. Long posts can be a bore sometimes but the way you write in all your posts makes me smile every time. Makes me want to read your future blog posts too. ^^

    • Thank you!! 😀 That means so much to me coming from you. And I LOVE LOVE LOVE your videos! They’re really insightful and I’m laughing throughout (haha, in a good way as well). Subscribed!- because I want to see where you take vlogging 🙂

  2. Ahhh this is a feel I know greatly ;v;

    I have also never really hated a book, save one. And I have a feeling they are similar and style. (also I’m really curious as to what book you read was as abhorrent as that xD)
    I’m curious if you have any feelings on whether or not the author of a book sees his characters as people or tools when he writes them (using “he” as the general for both genders here.), or what kind of character structure he uses depending on the author. What makes a character a good character?

    Keep writing, my friend~

    • Thank you for the insightful comment!

      In this book, the author saw his characters as people and if anything I think he did a relatively good job at depicting human nature (in the scenes and parts of the books I could understand). I think a good character is one that has many levels and layers of emotion and detail to it. A good author will know that the time planning a character is just as important as the story itself.
      A great example of this is in A Tale of Two Cities. I loved the character Sydney Carton because he was seen by the reader in so many perspectives throughout the book. He started off as a drunk and somehow evolved into a respected man doing something selfless to protect those he loved.
      A horrible example of character planning would be from the movie I watched Sharknado (*cringes). In this movie, one character in particular apparently was in a horrible accident-involving sharks during her childhood and was scarred for life, seeking revenge on the sharks. (Don’t watch the movie unless you’re ready for bad acting, horrible effects, and stupid characters.)

      I hope that answers your question haha. -Katrya 🙂

  3. Pingback: too busy to read | Treehouse Thoughts·

Leave a Reply

